US Catholic Faith in Real Life

'The End of the Tour' pays fitting tribute to David Foster Wallace

By Meghan Murphy-Gill |
Article Culture

In 1996, David Lipsky wanted what David Foster Wallace had, what any serious writer would want. Lipsky says as much, both in the pages of the book on which The End of the Tour is based and through Jesse Eisenburg, the actor who portrays Lipsky in the movie version.


'5 Flights Up' paints a compelling picture of long-term relationships

By Molly Jo Rose |
Article Culture
For fans of The Shawshank Redemption, Morgan Freeman’s narration of 5 Flights Up is disconcerting. In both films, Freeman reflects on the past 40 years while facing uncertainty in the years to come. Instead of a character about to leave prison, however, 5 Flights Up focuses on aging married couple Alex (Freeman) and Ruth (Diane Keaton), who are deciding if they want to leave their now-coveted Brooklyn apartment that is five flights up with no elevator.
 

Lord Huron transports listeners into strange unknown with 'Strange Trails'

By Sarah Butler |
Article Your Faith
You’ve probably never heard of prolific Western adventure novelist George Ranger Johnson. That’s only, however, because Lord Huron frontman Ben Schneider made him up (complete with an author website). Johnson’s novels were, according to Schneider, the inspiration for his Michigan-turned-Los Angeles band’s 2012 debut album, Lonesome Dreams.
 

William O'Malley teaches gratitude in 'You'll Never Be Younger'

By Ed Block |
Article Your Faith
For those who don’t know him, William J. O’Malley is an 82-year-old Jesuit. He played Father Joe Dyer in the 1973 movie The Exorcist, taught for almost 50 years at Fordham Prep, and published almost 40 books, including The Pursuit of Happiness (Thomas More) and Daily Prayers for Busy People (Liguori). 
 

Pages